Virginia Scribner Mallard
"Stations of the Cross"

Viewing the (untraditional) Stations of the Cross

Some General Notes:

In each Station you will note a white gossamer veil crossing each painting. This represents the Holy Spirit whose action and activity gives life and hope in passion and dying.

The Cross is always purple, jagged and dark. It is always portrayed in a downward thrust to emphasize the mass and weight of Christ's burden.

The Crown of thorns and nails are always black and always visible and always viciously spiked.

Color Significance of the Unifying Forms

The color red is used each time Christ meets with women. It is a color of passion, blood, fire and the true love of Mary: the 4th, 6th and 8th Stations.

White is used for all three times Jesus falls. This color symbolizes innocence, light, purity, faith, glory and holiness: the 3rd, 7th and 9th Stations.

Purple is the symbol of royalty, power, passion, suffering and the love of truth and is used in the 2nd, 5th and 10th Stations.

Black was chosen for the lightless times: the 11th, 12th and 13th Stations.

Pearl was chosen for the first and fourteenth stations to emphasize the beginning and end of Christ's ordeal.

1500Main | Virginia Scribner Mallard | Slide Show